Tags

, ,

Some of the writers on popcorntheblog are veteran bloggers, but others of us are new to the scene. I read several different blogs and have a general sense of what I like, but I don’t know the “rules,” or if there are rules, of writing for this platform.

A quick search of the web turned up lots of suggestions, tips, and guidelines on how to write a good blog post. There seemed to be a general consensus on which attributes keep readers interested. Below is a list of the highlights:

  • Have a catchy title (e.g. Stroppy & Crabbit, Tomatoes and Tight Briefs)
  • Write in your own voice
  • Give the reader something of value
  • Keep posts relatively short and sweet
  • Use bullet points, white space and images when possible
  • Include links and keywords
  • Don’t forget to edit and proofread!

I’ve never been one for blindly following the rules so I expect to break a few along the way when it makes sense or works better with the topic. Ultimately, I think that writing the kind of blog post I would enjoy reading is a good general principle – think like the reader!

For more information on writing strong blog entries, check out the following articles and also notice what you particularly like in blog posts you’ve read. Check out this article from problogger and another from Brian Klems.

If you follow a blog or blogs that you find particularly well-written, let us know!