Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m not one to talk a lot about the weather, but when nature offers up a fall as breathtaking as the one we’ve had in Seattle, even I find it hard to avoid the topic. Seattleites are emerging, squinting and dazed, from a seemingly endless string of sunny days. Yes, I realize there is a possibility that living in the northwest for 18 years has warped my concept of “endless sun”. Yes, I realize that there are places were a lovely fall means vibrant foliage and snappy, crisp air. In Seattle, it means that the world isn’t permanently colored in muted grays. I am thisclose to writing about the rainbow I saw on my way to work a few weeks ago. A rainbow! On a day with no rain!

But the bright sunlight hasn’t addled my brain so much that I feel the need to paint pastel colors on the page.

Quite the opposite.

Last Friday, our weather changed. One day, the sun was blurred by a hazy fog and the next it was nearly extinguished by a heavy blanket of moisture.

And I love it.

The week’s weather forecast

I have gotten more done in the last three days than I have in the last three weeks. I’ve cleared out the notorious “toy room” off of our living room. (That’s a euphemism for “junk room”.) I’ve installed, labelled, and filled files in my desk drawer. And–I know I shouldn’t type this–I feel almost on top of things at my new post as a fifth grade teacher. (To be clear, “on top of things” does not mean anything more than I have a vague idea of what I’m going to teach tomorrow and the next day, and I’ve made a lot of photocopies in advance.) And I’ve started writing again.

Writing with a new resolve to make sure this oddly energizing northwest atmosphere seeps into everything I write.

So, how’s the weather where you are?