Tags

, , , , , ,

I love questions.
I love considering how people make decisions.
And I love the public library.

On a recent visit to my local branch, magic happened. Two front-facing titles drew me in. The first: Show Me a Story! Why Picture Books Matter: Conversations with 21 of the World’s Most Celebrated Illustrators.

Score! Kids’ books, authors,  illustrators!  I turned first to the interview with Mo Willems:

Q: What did you learn at Sesame Street that has carried over into your books?”
A: Clarity, brevity, and that funny is funny.

This may be cliched to say, but I love conversations that reveal inspiration. Here’s another snippet from the chat with Trixie’s dad:

Q: As you began making picture books, were you inspired by other artists’ books, either books you were looking at then for the first time or those you remembered from childhood?”
“A: The first Pigeon book was certainly informed by Where the Wild things Are.

Let’s go back to that display at my local library. Another surprise: an Atlas of Fashion Designers. Total. Eye. Candy. A book I never would have read. Never imagined I’d put on hold. But there it was, gorgeous, global, and filled with killer insights:

What inspires you?”
“What is your dream as a designer?”
“What has been the most important achievement of your career?”
“How important are trends?”
“Fashion has always reflected a certain era. What does fashion reflect in the twenty-first century?”
“What book would you recommend to every fashion designer?

Simple questions, open-ended enough to not make any preconceived assumptions about what the teller would tell. But specific enough to capture the fashion landscape and hone in on the designer’s vision.

I spend a lot of my work life asking people questions. So I’m always on the lookout, brainstorming ways to ask WHY.  For instance, in the New York Times Sunday Business section, there’s a department called Openers, where you’ll often find a featured CEO. I’m curious about how these execs found their passion, carved their path. Some recent questions that got me thinking:

Tell me how your leadership style evolved over time.”
“What were some leadership lessons you learned along the way?”
What advice do you give college graduates heading into their careers?

I love these mini-puzzles that explore

  • what makes someone tick
  • what makes their heart beat faster
  • what brought a transformation.

When I write stories that give me a glimpse into people’s minds and lives, and I craft these bits of text that prompt response, oftentimes, I’m inspired too.