Tags

, , , ,

Today is the first day of summer and that means TENNIS!

Watching lots and lots of tennis that is – from the comfort of my own couch. I can spend hours watching the little yellow ball go back and forth across the net. I enjoy the hypnotic sound of the ball plonking back and forth on the court, the skill and stamina of the world’s top women and men tennis players (have you SEEN Rafael Nadal?) and even the commentators’ hushed inane chatter between points.

For such a sedate sport, a lot of drama can be found in and out of the stadium. The stories of players humble beginnings, the inhuman hours on the tennis court, overbearing parents and coaches and players’ rituals and quirks reveal a lot about being human in an intense and lonely pursuit.

Andre Agassi’s autobiography “Open” has been on my list of books to read for a while now so I’ve decided that this is the summer of reading athlete biographies. My reading list below leans heavily toward tennis but there are a few other random sports thrown in for variety.

With all of the sitting and watching it looks like I’ll be doing this summer, I think I better pick up a racket and head out to the court.
Are there any sports biographies on your summer reading list?

The Outsider: A Memoir by Jimmy Connors
Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
Days of Grace, A Memoir by Arthur Ashe
Open: An Autobiography by Andre Agassi
King of the World: The Rise of Muhammad Ali and the Rise of an American Hero by David Remnick
On the Line by Serena Williams
Age is Just a Number by Dara Torres
My Foot is too big for the Glass Slipper: A Guide to the Less than Perfect Life by Gabrielle Reece